Time Machine(A journey to my childhood)

13139150_10206225652580080_7936804647823054517_n

I am Angelo Jose Bello De Sierra, you can also call me Angee, I grew up in Antipolo, City in the province of Rizal. My typographical date of birth is 17th of December and my Mother’s declaration of my date of birth is 7th of December, I am a blogger(aspiring should I say). I am an aspiring Pop-rock vocalist, script writer, movie editor, songwriter, (dreaming of becoming) a tv host.

These aspirations are getting farther and farther as I grow older and I must admit that I am having this fear of not getting either one of these dreams into reality one day. When I was a little child, my first love is sketching. I used to do a lot of doodling(they don’t call it doodling way back) I used to draw a lot of cartoon characters from Disney to Super Saiyan (Dragon Ball Z) characters. I still remember those times when my brothers are playing with their fellow kids outside while I am alone inside my room sketching all day.

enhanced-10732-1406878045-1

 

I remember my father calling me “Prupesor“(Professor) because I’m always holding a pen and paper back then…

download

 

My  hobby of watching too much TV also started because of watching too much Eat Bulaga when I was around 6 to 7 years old(as far as I can remember). I admire TVJ a lot because of how they made my father laugh. I remember my father laughing while saying…”Mga Kalog talaga!”.

I was too young to understand that what TVJ is doing is not only making my father laugh, but also making him relax after a long week of work. I will never ever forget the scene of their movie called Working Boys, the scene where instead of TVJ fixing an old school black and white tv, they broke it instead and pretend to be an actor on tv so that the customer will see that the said appliance is fixed(which is not). I don’t know, I kept comparing the way they deliver comedy before with movies today.

hqdefault

mqdefault

hqdefault (1).jpg

I remember having this cut-out picture of Aiza Seguerra at the back of my 1st grade ID, my classmates were like “Ngek si Aiza ‘yan ah!”.

Yeah, I know it’s silly and awkward, but uh, yeah, just have to accept who you are before!

 

When I was around 9 to 10 years old, my mother taught me music(not literally playing musical instruments huh!). I was in 3rd grade that time when music hit me, my mother is always listening to an FM radio station which is 93.9 WKC(and yes the jingle is still in my head). While preparing breakfast before I go to school around 6:00 am, I often hear the song “Your love” from Alamid and some other 90’s songs like “Banal na aso, Santong kabayo” from Yano and some dance tracks like “Dying Inside”from Timmy Thomas or “It’s a beautiful life” from Ace of base.

DWKC_93.9_FM_Old_1978I often saw my mother singing in the morning while preparing my lunchbox, I remember one time when she is singing The will of the wind by Jim Photoglo, I kept on staring at her and used to ask her this…

Ma, bakit mo alam ‘yung kanta?!“(with me having wide space in my head) and she answered “Wala, sinasabayan ko lang!“. From that day on I never stop listening to music because I wanna imitate my mother, I wanna be like her, I wanna know all songs as well,like what she is doing.

One day my mother made me understand the secret, my mother’s secret is this thin booklet that she bought once in the market, she called it song-hits(songbook,song magazine which ever you prefer to call it). She told me “Magbasa-basa ka!“, I eventually turn the pages of that “Song-hits”.

I can still remember the first ever song lyrics that I read, and it is the song called Bawal na gamot by Willy Garte.

Though the first song that I’ve learned is Mga Kababayan ko by(the late great) Francis Magalona, my mother taught me to listen to a lot of artists by the help of F.M. stations.

When I was in 5th grade my fundamentals in music grows larger, I remember listening to Backstreet boys for the first time while they sang “you’re the one for me, you’re my ecstasy, you’re the one I need!”…

download

Get down, which is their first single. I lost a lot of sketching habit being addicted to music that time. I remember myself saving some money to be able to buy BSB’s album(which I wasn’t able to do so)as well as wasting cassette tapes anticipating their songs on the radio and then press the play plus record button on our old school cassette player’s tape deck way back. I can also recall myself pretending to be a disc jock after recording songs on a those mixed up cassette tapes–such a silly thing that I’m doing back then, It makes me almost hit myself remembering the good ol’ days of my childhood.

I was in 1st year high-school when I learned how to right lyrics(song lyrics), I remember the first song that I wrote called Both of us.
The song was influenced by The Backstreetboys(of course) and the melody of the song is almost similar with their song called “Like a child”. I don’t know, I guess it’s just natural with beginners to write a song with a similar melody with another artist’s song. The Boyband frenzy hit me until 3rd year of my high-school a lot of boybands invaded my tape deck way back–98 degrees, ‘Nsync, A1, Westlife, O-town, Plus One, LFO, 5ive, The Moffatts, Boyzone and some other what-nots that I can’t recall anymore.
Nothing to be ashamed of, these artists influenced me how to write songs.

backstreet-boys-vs-nsync-billboard-650

In my 4th year high-school, I gotta confess that this is the rebellious and explicit year of my love for music. I learned to listen to most of Hip-hop music(explicit hip-hop music to be exact). First of all is Eminem, this artist influenced me to rhyme, write rap songs, cuss, diss and most of all, hate and hate and hate!.
I was so addicted to Hip-hop music that time that I almost throw those old Boybands cassette tapes that I have. I used to listen to a lot of hip-hop artist like(of course)Eminem, Dr. Dre, Bone Thugs and Harmony, Outkast, Afroman, Puff Daddy, D12, Ja Rule, Royce da 5″9 and some gold ol’ homie OPM artist like Salbakuta and of course Andrew E. and Francis M.!

The_Marshall_Mathers_LP

Yeah, I admit that I used to write rap songs before but I don’t have them no mo’. I don’t treasure them actually, to be honest. For me it was like the darkest days of my love for music that I don’t want to remember(but I’m still a fan of Eminem though), “a rebel without a cause”.

After graduating from high-school, I got bored. I eventually kept myself busy from looking for a part time job(and it sucks). I met people who plays skateboard, I kept on watching them and since I am still in to Hip-hop that time, I told myself that this skateboarding thing sucks!.
One day while I was watching a local music channel, I saw this announcement that the rock band called P.O.D will be visiting Manila and since one of their member is a Filipino, I got intrigued by it. I tried to anticipate for their songs on the radio and on local music channels. The first time I heard their song called Youth of the nation, I eventually got hooked by it because it’s a rap song(not knowing that the genre is what they called rap-metal). That’s the time that I didn’t stop searching and searching for this kind of music that has rap and rock mix with it. I discovered more of these by listening to Linkin Park, Limp Bizkit, Paparoach and Rage Against The Machine.

images

In the summer of 2003, I am a rock music fan already. I got this first pair of my faded black Chuck Taylor shoes from a good ol’ friend of mine from high-school, he gave me this pair of shoes since no one is using it and I gotta say that it is authentic(sadly, I wasn’t able to keep it). 2003 is also the start of the rock music invasion. That’s the year when I first heard the bubble-gum pop-rock music of Avril Lavigne. Gosh, I am so addicted with her music specially her first album Let go!(which I still have the cassette tape copy of it). Avril also influenced me to write Pop-rock songs and also made me feel envious and wanting to buy another pair of Chucks(that I wasn’t able to do so)because of her Sk8er boi video. 2003 is also the year of rock bands. The Calling, Simple Plan, Marjorie Fair, Jets, Evanesence, Our Lady Peace, Good Charlotte, Sum 41, Incubus and my all time favorite The All-American Rejects!.

the-all-american-rejects-4f04a65736fad.jpg

download (1)

In 2004, I attended the first-ever rock concert that I’ve been with, which is Pulp Summer Slam IV together with my best of friends Carlo Embodo and Christopher Biago. The atmosphere of first timer is so memorable and nostalgic. I even remember myself dancing inside the mosh-pit and letting it all out. Most of the artists of that said concert are Filipinos, I remember seeing Ely Buendia and the other two members of The Eraserheads which is Buddy Zabala and Raimund Marasigan for the first time on that said concert.

In 2005, OPM Rock Music reigns. Orange and Lemons, Sugarfree, Hale, Cueshé, Mayonnaise, Pupil, Sandwich, Kjwan, Hilera, Barbie’s Cradle, Bamboo, Rivermaya, Kapatid, Slapshock, Typecast, Kamikazee, Parokya Ni Edgar, Join the Club, Pan, Imago(etcetera). These artists also influenced me to form a band.

Dress-Emo-(Guys)-Step-4.jpg

In 2006, the genré called Emó emerged. There’s Dashboard Confessional, My Chemical Romance, The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, Taking Back Sunday, The Used, Yellowcard, Story of the year and of course,The All American Rejects(considered as Post pop-rock emó by most music critics). This is also the year when my song writing skills became better and deep.

19267_1332417550335_3543141_n.jpg

In 2007, I already have a band which I named High-School Anthem. It was the first name of a band that hit me when I registered for a college gig. I don’t know there’s no specific reason why I called the band High-School Anthem. This year is the “band”(should I say) year for me since I been with several gigs to play with. It was the highest point of me being in love with rock music as well as my own music.

25735_1377689722111_7187100_n

I get so addicted in writing lyrics that time that I am not going out that much.
It was like write, eat and repeat.

My hobby of editing videos started because of my band as well. I got this vision where my band will be recording a song so soon and we’ll also be doing our own music video(DYI). I used to research a lot about the basics of video editing stuff.

portable-windows-movie-maker-5

I used to start with Windows Movie Maker(which I realized in the end that it sucks since the quality of the video is pixelated once you save it)doing photo slides and a little bit of editing and rearranging clips with the help of that software. I also started to read a lot articles about local independent movies and how they managed to create their own movie the”DYI” way.

Sadly, my band didn’t last that long(don’t really know the reason why we suddenly broke-up). I guess it’s time management that we don’t really know how to handle.

Prem-grab-3

I still continued writing songs and learning video editing and become addicted to it. I learned the basics of using Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 which has a lot of effects and stuff that you can do with your video.

Thinking of writing scripts also hit me. I wrote about two scripts already for a short film called The Joots which is about two marijuana addicted slackers that is dying to hide a dead body to avoid being convicted and this other script that I was able to finish but doesn’t have a title yet. I wrote those scripts considering sending an entry to Cinefilipino last 2014(that I wasn’t able to make the cut because of the script’s profanity and explicit contents).

cinefilipino-logo

So what else,umm…yeah, right now?
I’m in frustrations, being an ordinary office worker sometimes sucks! but hey, I appreciate it a lot since not all people can work in a corporate world, that makes my living as well(bread and butter, milk and honey should I say).

I am not gonna make it any longer now.
I don’t even know if you guys(if there is)was able to make it in this part of this blog.

Yeah!

I’m still hoping to make it, any of these ambitions will do.

Can you help me?!
Nah..(smiling!)

Hit me up on…

Twitter: @angeedesierra
Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

